Terms that appear with an asterisk (*) are configurable and may differ from your Ninety. Explore our glossary of terms.

Covered in This Article

Note: If someone has the Observer* role, they can't have content assigned to them.

How Do Roles Work?

Roles dictate what content you can edit or view within Ninety, including access to powers such as inviting new users or considering billing options.

Here is a general overview of each role's capabilities:

Responsibilities Chart*

Process*

Vision*

Rocks*/To-Dos*/Issues*

Owner*

Edit

Edit

Edit

Create/View All Teams

Admin*

Edit

Edit

Edit

Create/View All Teams

Manager*

Edit

Edit

Edit Their team

Create/View Their Team

Team Member*

View

View

View

Create/View Their Team

Observer*

View

View

View

View Team

Coach*

Edit

Edit

Edit

Create/View Team

Find more details regarding each below.

Assigning Roles to Existing Users

To set Roles for each user, navigate to the Directory* located in the left-hand sidebar.

Click the Role drop-down to choose one of the options.

Expanded Permissions for Each Role

Owner

By default, the person that creates the company is the owner of the company account and receives the related permissions.

The Owner* sees information from every team, even if they are not a team member. If they are not an active team member, they will not show up as a potential owner of any items (Rocks*, To-Dos*, Issues*).

They will see billing information and receive billing notifications.

Restrictions:

  • None

Admin

Same user permissions as the Owner*.

Restrictions:

  • Cannot delete a company account

Manager

They can access and edit information for their teams. They can create new teams and users for their team(s).

Restrictions:

  • Cannot view any 1-on-1* conversations other than their own

  • Cannot access billing information in settings

  • Cannot change the role/teams of themselves, Owners*, Admins*, or other Managers*

Team Member

They can access and edit information for their team(s).

Restrictions:

  • Cannot perform any administrative tasks

  • Cannot edit the Vision*, Responsibilities* chart, or Processes*

  • Cannot view any 1-on-1* conversations other than their own

  • Cannot create new KPIs*

  • Cannot access settings

Observer

They can view information related to their team(s).

Restrictions

  • Cannot be assigned items (such as Rocks*, To-Dos*, and Issues*)

  • Cannot edit anything

  • Cannot access settings

Note: Observers do NOT count toward your total number of users during billing. They will appear as "Free Users" in your account. Every other user will be calculated for billing after sending their invitation.

Operator

Business coaches usually hold this role. They can edit similarly to an Admin*.

Related Articles

Did this answer your question?